jump to navigation

Heart shaped box February 12, 2009

Posted by rhiyaya in food, pictures, recipes.
trackback

So, the other day on Cake Wrecks I saw a link to this cake on the Bakerella site.

Don’t study her version too closely. Because it puts mine to shame. Hers looks so professional that it’s just crazy. Mine looks like it was made by somebody who has barely ever made a cake before. Of course, that is the case. I’ve also only used fondant once before, on my mom’s birthday cupcakes.

But anyhow, here was my attempt. Click here for all of the pictures.

Finished product

Chocolates up close

Chocolates up close

Chocolates up close
Fondant edges

I should have made the cake a little shorter… I didn’t realize how much that recipe was going to rise. I made my own fondant, but it wasn’t sturdy enough, and I had trouble getting the sides to stay standing up. Mine also ended up a bit messy.

I did learn a couple of things, though:
If you’re going to use chocolate chips for dipping, use Ghirardelli chips. The Nestle crap was way too thick. But I melted my Ghiradelli and it was super smooth and liquidy. I took advantage of this and used my egg separator to dip the chocolates. It let the excess chocolate drain off easily.

So that was my experience making a cake that looked complicated. It turned out decently… as long as you don’t look at the one on Bakerella!

Comments»

1. noogle - February 12, 2009

perhaps you could use modeling chocolate for the sides? It would be stronger and better in the humidity we had this week

2. Palila - February 12, 2009

That’s awesome! People have talked about attempting it, but you delivered.

3. rhiyaya - February 12, 2009

So, I’m thinking that maybe I greased up my hands too often, and that I ended up with too much crisco in the fondant, and that’s why it was so sloppy.

4. ginger - February 13, 2009

That cake looks great Rhi! Fondant is definitely tricky stuff. I have made it before and it is tricky, tricky to work with, but the recipes I had the best luck with were the marshmallow fondant ones. They were pretty easy to make and tasted so much better too! I am just starting cakes now, and we definitely will be getting to fondants of all kinds coming up soon, so if you want a good recipe for some I’ll let you know how the one we use comes out!

I sent you an email on the swiss buttercream and swans too btw!

5. Gina Darty - March 1, 2009

hey- i just got your message. My MMF stood up, but you’ll see it’s not very high over the edge (maybe 1/4 inch?), otherwise it probably would’ve flopped. it wasn’t rolled too thin, and I attached it with buttercream to the sides. Not much else I can tell you, but by the way I love how decorative your chocolates are! By the time I got to that part, I was too tired to get too creative!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

